I’m Still Here

So, I still haven’t quite gotten back into the swing of posting. But, in my defense, itΒ is canning season where I live, so I’ve been busy canning beans. Anyway, as far as picture projects go, I was working on an animation, but it’s pretty much been dropped now. Maybe I’ll pick it back up sometime in the future. Instead of working on the animation, I’ve been trying my hand at drawing a realistic picture. So far, the only thing I’ve really finished is the eye, although I have drawn an outline for the rest of the picture, and I’ve started on the hair. Anyway, I’m going to let you awesome readers have a look at the eye. See if you can guess who I’m drawing based on the eye (except for you Dino, because you already know). I’ll give you a hint, the character is from a video game series.

Realistic Eye

I also have made a blinking animation with the eye (because I was bored one night, and I felt like animating), but I haven’t saved it as a GIF file yet, so I’ll have to post it some other time.

Later.

15 thoughts on “I’m Still Here

    1. Strawberry Post author

      That’s a good guess, and the colors are similar, but it’s not my avatar. That’s actually a human eye. I might have to try drawing my avatar in a realistic style sometime. Thanks for the idea! πŸ˜€

      Reply
  1. stina

    Nice! I really have no idea what character it is, but I like how you drew the tear duct and the thickness of the bottom eyelid. Details like that really add to realistic-style drawings πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Strawberry Post author

      Thanks! I used another realistic picture as reference for the shape of the eye. I think I need to lighten it up a little, though, so it looks a little more watery, like an eye should. What do you think? Should I lighten it up, or does it look fine the way it is?

      Reply
      1. stina

        Hmm, well it’s hard to say without seeing the rest of the drawing. Art is a lot about context; every section/part of a drawing has to be adjusted so that they work together as a whole picture.

        But if you’re asking in general, adding highlights over the iris would certainly help with the realism! (I’m assuming that’s what you mean by making it look “more watery,” but correct me if I’m wrong!) To do that it would help to darken the “white” part of the eye (use a really light blue/grey) because in reality that part isn’t pure white.

        I guess all I can tell you is to study your reference(s) closely πŸ™‚ There are also some really great tutorials on drawing realistic eyes out there. This is one of my favorites: http://www.proko.com/how-to-draw-an-eye-step-by-step/

        Can’t wait to see what you do with the rest of your drawing πŸ˜€

      2. Strawberry Post author

        Thanks for the advice! Yeah, I was meaning I was wanting to make it look more realistic by making it “more watery”. Thanks for the link! I’m quite happy with how the picture is turning out right now. I might not like it later, though. πŸ˜›

        So, I was wondering, have you ever seen any animations by an animator who goes by the name of GinjaNinjaOwO on Youtube? If not, then here’s a link to her most recent MAP part that’s she’s uploaded:

      3. stina

        I’m not really familiar with many animators, but I’m always happy to be introduced to their work πŸ˜€ Hers looks pretty good, I’ll have to check out more stuff she’s done! Thanks for sharing the link!

  2. janielyn

    Very cool looking… my only suggestions is to always watch the shape of the pupil (except for when you are going for a goat a creature of course! haha). I got called out on it a lot and it is basically drilled in my head now. The blurry effect is pretty awesome.. how did you do that? =)

    Reply
  3. Jack Flacco

    I hope you come back soon. Blogging is a huge commitment deserving countless of hours of prep. But, it’s always great to take some time off for other things. Canning, sounds like the perfect activity.

    As for the eye, I’m not sure–is it Zelda?

    Reply
    1. Strawberry Post author

      Yeah, hopefully my schedule will thin out a little so I’ll have more time for blogging.

      The eye doesn’t belong to Zelda, but it does belong to a character from an RPG.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

