Super Mario RPG – Legend of the Seven Stars: Part 3

Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00000 Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00002

After meeting Mallow’s grandfather, it’s time to head to a new town (I think it was called Rose Town, but I’m not for sure). Along the way, we run into Bowser, who also can’t reach his castle. When we run into him, he is assembling troops, which gives the impression that he is going to war with the giant sword that is in his castle.

Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00003

 

Upon reaching the town, we find that it (of course) has a serious problem. Arrows rain from the forest, and whenever they hit someone, they are unable to move. But they can still talk, so I still went around the town and talked to everyone I could.

Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00004 Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00005 Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00007

The first place I entered was the Inn. Upon entering, I found a young Toad playing with a Mario, Peach, and Bowser toy. When the little boy realizes that Mario has just walked through the door, he asks him to play with him, Mario agrees. The kid (whose name is Gaz) gets a toy named “Geno”, and gives Mario the Bowser toy to play with. The two then proceed to make their toys battle. During the battle, Gaz has Geno fire some sort of projectile. Even though he was aiming for the Bowser toy, he misses and hits Mario instead, causing Mario to pass out. So much for being the world’s last hope, huh? While Mario is recovering, a shooting star comes along and brings the toy to life. After the toy wakes up, it stumbles around a little, then walks out the door. After Mario wakes up and walks downstairs, Gaz runs into the Inn and says that he saw Geno walking into the forest. Of course, Gaz’s mom doesn’t believe him, much to his dismay. But Mario thinks it’s worth checking out.

Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00008

Before I went to the forest, I checked out the other buildings in the town. I’m glad I did, because if I hadn’t, I wouldn’t have gotten directions to a treasure.

Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00009 Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00010 Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00011 Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00013 Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00014

After talking to everyone in town, I headed to the forest. I really liked the background music that played here. I usually don’t notice music in video games (or movies, cartoons, TV shows, and anime). Wasn’t the theme for this place remixed for Super Smash Bros. Brawl? Anyway, Mario and Mallow leveled up twice while fighting some enemies.

Remember that treasure I mentioned earlier? This is it.

Remember that treasure I mentioned earlier? This is it.

Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00016 Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00017 Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00018

After running through a maze and chasing Geno, I found the boss. His name is Bowyer, and he looks like a bow (very funny, Producers). He even shoots arrows-namely the arrows that plague the town. Go figure, right? He also talks like Yoda, which is a nice touch. Wonder I do, if watching Star Wars the producers had been. By the way, Nintendo and Square, I love the Bruce Lee reference. Anyway, not long after Mario and Mallow find Bowyer, one of his henchmen find the star piece I’m looking for. But before he can give it to Bowyer, Geno shows up and demands that Bowyer stop firing his arrows at the town. Bowyer, of course, refuses. So, Geno proceeds to fight Bowyer. Mario and Mallow then rush to his aid.

Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00019 Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00021 Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00022Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars 3_00023

 

After defeating Bowyer, Geno reveals that he is actually a star, and that he is merely using the doll to move around in Mario’s world. He then proceeds to tell Mario and Mallow that the star pieces are actually pieces of Star Road, and that if Smithy isn’t defeated and Star Road isn’t repaired, there won’t be any more wishes that are granted in Mario’s world. He then tells us that his name is Heart-Music Note-Exclamation Mark-Question Mark, but since that’s hard to pronounce, he says we can call him Geno. Which is good because I don’t speak Symbol-ese. Anyway, that’s all I got done in Super Mario RPG today.

Later.

4 thoughts on “Super Mario RPG – Legend of the Seven Stars: Part 3

  1. stina

    Every time I read these posts of yours the battle music from this game plays in my head 😀

    Your party’s getting bigger! For me, RPGs become more fun with more playable characters available 🙂

    Reply
    1. Strawberry Post author

      I’m glad you like it! 😀

      Same. I’m gonna have to work on Geno a little, though. He’s kinda weak right now. He has pretty good attack, but his defense is awful. I had to restore his HP several times while fighting Bowyer, I even lost him once during the fight. I hope it’s just because he’s at a lower level than Mario and Mallow. So, with some training he’ll be a great fighter. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

